Light in a Dark World

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp (candle) and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone”  – Matthew 5:14

This week God brought me back to a night in 2014, there was a power outage and I felt led to do a word search on light in the bible, the verse above really stood out to me, but this week God reminded me of another verse he led me to that night, a verse I didn’t really pay much attention to. Now it means so much to me because of where I am in life “I, the Lord, have called you into righteousness; I will take hold of your hand. I will keep you and make you to be a covenant for the people and a light for the gentiles, to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prisons and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.” Isaiah 42: 6-7 I needed that memory and that verse this week, I allowed the enemy to steal my passion and joy for a very long time, without even realizing what was going on until the week was practically over. My focus wasn’t on God or what his plan for me is, I was instead worrying about earthly things, things God already knows about. I forgot that God is here for me to talk to about anything and that he cares about me, he cares about the minor and major details in my life but I forgot that this week, I let the enemy whisper in my ear, telling me how my life is messy and i’m a messed up person, how can God use someone like me to be a light in this world when I have so much darkness and issues inside me? In my mind I can only be used once i’m all fixed and everything is just dandy, but that’s not how God works. God doesn’t use perfect people to advance his kingdom, he uses imperfect and messed up individuals, people who are weak and aware of how much they need him just to get through the day.

I’m currently reading a book, actually a bunch cause I’m a nerd like that, but through this book “Fervent – A Woman’s Battle Plan for Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer” by Priscilla Shirer and God reminding me of what’s ahead and what I’m here for, I realized what the enemy was up to, he was trying to take my focus away from God and what he has for me; especially in the coming week. He wanted to derail me and for awhile he did.  In this short time he was able to take away my passion for serving others, time I could’ve spent with family but instead I spent it being isolated. I could’ve reached out and asked for help but once again the enemy disguised himself and so I just took my sadness as “that’s just life”, I chose to suck it up and move on, not realizing I was and still am in a battlefield. I am no longer the devil’s friend and partner in crime…I left him a while back and he’s pretty pissed….he’s coming at me with everything he’s got, but through this book “Fervent” i’m being reminded that Satan has already lost the war, i’m victorious because of Jesus.

THE ENEMY HAS ALREADY BEEN….

  • Disarmed and embarrassed Colossians 2:15
  • Overruled Ephesians 1:20-22
  • Mastered Philippians 2:9-11
  • Rendered Powerless Hebrews 2:14
  • All his hard work destroyed 1 John 3:8

It also reminded me who I am in Christ and who God says I am or what he thinks of me because similar to maybe everyone else, I have a negative view of myself, God loves me and every day I sit and ask God why? Ephesians 1 says

IN CHRIST WE ARE…

  • Equipped through Christ with “every spiritual blessing” vs 3
  • Chosen in Him “before the foundation of the world” vs 4
  • Regarded as “holy and blameless before Him” vs 4
  • Adopted through the “kind intention of His will” vs 5
  • Redeemed and forgiven, “lavished” with Grace vs 7-8
  • Recipients of a glorious “inheritance” in Heaven vs 11
  • Secured forever by the “Holy Spirit of promise” vs 13-14

The passage and memory made me realize that God really did have a plan for me even before I started living my life for him, he had this plan specifically for me before I was even born. He wants me as a Christ follower to be passionate towards him and in serving his people. He wants me to bring light into this world, to give sight to those who are blind and not even aware of their blindness. He’s called me to set his people free, those who are in bondage and yet to see their chains and shackles. He’s called me to use my weaknesses, my struggles and my messed up broken self; to bring it all to him, so through him I will be made whole and together we can bring his children to him.

  
God Bless!!! 💕 

 

2 thoughts on “Light in a Dark World

  1. Kristine says:

    This is such a beautiful uplifting piece.
    It truly speaks to how God wants us just as we are, broken and imperfect. Only then can He mound us to be perfect in Him and truly experience His love so we can be the light of the world for Him.
    Thank you…I needed to hear this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

