This goes out to the heaviest heart…

 “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” – 1 Corinthians 10:13

So I have this tendency where I’d get tempted and instead of recognizing it for what it is; the enemy’s work, I’ll start to feel guilty and then become sad. Today that’s what happened with me, I woke up from one of my infamous dreams which is basically the enemy’s way to attack me at times, I woke up from that temptation and was later tempted even more. I went on to listen to some worship music and then finish up my life group home work, we’re discussing the book “Every Woman’s Battle: Discovering God’s Plan for Sexual and Emotional Fulfillment”, through reading this book I felt encouraged but it also triggered me, I got through it because I refused to let the enemy keep me locked up in the fear department when it comes to sexual issues or just any issue really. I was taught at an early age by adults to do things on my own and so when I feel tempted or I’m struggling, I find it extremely hard to reach out because I think I need to do it all on my own, I’m trying to change from that since it is not helpful. I’ve been in Celebrate Recovery at Rocky Peak Church since 2009, through the program I now have a Sponsor and Accountability partners, so I chose to call my Sponsor during this time. I gave my testimony 3 weeks ago, I shared my inventory with my Sponsor yesterday and this Saturday I will be attending a week long leadership training so I can later help others who have sexual & relational issues….so I’ve really been getting attacks here and there, and she reminded me of that. Based on our chat I got a few things that I just had to put in my journal for future use, I then thought id write about it here as well. Since I obviously have an incorrect view of what being tempted really means, she broke it down for me and had me repeat it to her at the end, so….

Being Tempted DOES NOT Mean:

  • I (you) did something wrong
  • I (you) am/are a bad person
  • God isn’t mad at me (you) because I (you) had a bad thought/sexual dream, he won’t leave because of it, he’s still there, he’s always there.
  • I am not alone in my struggles and neither are you, we ALL go through temptations
  • Being tempted doesn’t mean I (you) have been defeated, we don’t lose a fight because we’ve been tempted. We are not losers anymore, in Christ we are victorious, we just need to believe that.

Jesus being of no sin was also tempted, so we will face temptations too, but since he was tempted yet didn’t sin, he sympathizes with me AND you and he will help us get through it. God gave me this passage while sleeping, in the midst of all those other dreams that later tempted me, he knew i’d need it “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

Believing the lies about being tempted and feeling defeated whenever tempted gives the enemy too much ground, it allows him to feel like he’s won and he’s then able to move right in. Satan’s the real loser, he’s already defeated….in Christ we’re already Healed and we’re Free. I pray the songs below will encourage you to keep pushing and for you to believe what God says about us.

for King & Country – It’s Not Over Yet Lyric Video

Lauren Daigle – Here’s My Heart Lord Lyric Video

Hillsong United – Take Heart

God Bless!!! ✌🏾️💕

 

Leave a Reply

