His Eye Is On The Sparrow

 

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” – Luke 12:32

How abundant are the good things that you have stored up for those who fear you, that you bestow in the sight of all, on those who take refuge in you. In the shelter of your presence you hide them from all human intrigues; you keep them safe in your dwelling from accusing tongues. – Psalm 31: 19-20

I spent some time in my front yard yesterday just laying on the grass, gazing at the sky and birds. I always admire birds; the way they fly about so freely and their beautiful chirping, it makes me wish I were like them – being free by being the way God intended me  to live my every day life. As I was praying after this, God brought those birds to mind and the passage from Luke.  I’m his Sparrow, his little flock and he is watching over me. So many times I forget that God is good and that he is FOR me and not against me – life happens, disaster strikes, disappointments occur and in that moment I forget that God is in it with me and that I’m going to be okay. I get used to being in pain/injured and off to the sideline that I worry about  how life will be for me when I’m healed. I can’t see what God is doing, it seems messy- I feel messy but yet he’s working. After all this I will probably see the reason/purpose for all this, I just want to see the good in it now during all the messy feelings. I need God’s peace, joy and strength every single day just to make it otherwise I feel like a complete wreck. I didn’t realize just how much I needed God and his guidance until recently, I literally ask him to guide my steps so I don’t fall – which is pretty funny since I mean it spiritually and physically regarding my knee. God has good things in store for me, things I obviously can’t see as yet and things I’m afraid of at the moment. Why am I afraid if they’re good things? Because it’ll require pain and maybe sacrifice to get there, it’ll involve me trusting God more which isn’t always easy for me. I prefer to know where it’ll end and then I can say, okay God I trust you, not knowing how I’m going to get to the good stuff or what the good stuff looks like makes it hard to follow or trust it’ll be ‘good’. Thankfully God knows my heart and he loves me anyway, that’s the thing that makes me trust him; when I don’t know what’s going on his love for me when I’m behaving like Eve’s daughter instead of God’s daughter is still the same.

Leave a Reply

