Happy Halloween πŸ‘»πŸŽ­πŸŽƒ

A friend shared a story/epiphany with me and I told her I’d steal it and turn it into a blog. I shall attempt to retell it as best I can. 

We all know about Halloween; some of us celebrate it and some don’t but we know it exists. The single day of the year we get to dress up and pretend to be someone we’re not, and no one says anything. We live in a time where we are consumed by our gadgets and no one knows the name of the person next door. 

My friend shared with me that she realized that Halloween is the only time of the year where people are so inviting and welcoming. We smile at strangers walking through our streets dressed up as that guy from a horror film. We turn the porch light on, lay candies out at our front door which all says you’re free to stop by. As scary and sometimes weird as this holiday might be, when do we ever do this? When are we nice to the stranger on the street or inviting to someone in the neighborhood? 

This friend also stated that her son loves to trick o’ treat, but this year all he wanted to do was pass out candy to other kids in his neighborhood. That completely melted my heart and I love that. Children have such a kind heart and love that they share to others, no wonder Jesus said  “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” – Matthew 19:14 They are innocent and give with all their heart because the world is still big and bright to them at that age. Adults have been screwed ten times by “the world” and so we at times act like everyone is the enemy; our neighbor and the stranger on the bus. We have such pain inside that we try to hide it in our laughter, our gossip, through sex and on Halloween we put on an actual mask. We proudly pretend to be someone else for a day when it’s okay to do so; then we go to work/school/home afterwards and the physical mask is gone but we’re somehow still pretending to be someone else. It’s become so easy pretending everything is okay, pretending to be someone else that if we’re not careful we lose our true self while trying to find a beautiful lie. Sometimes I’m my true person, sometimes I’m a fake – I love being my true self; I hide it at times because like everyone else I want to be liked. I want to be liked so much, that I would hide and dislike my true self so others can like my fake self. Funny and sad how that works. I hope to someday not care about what others think and whether they will like me or not, but instead be kind to that stranger because my childlike persona says it’s okay to be kind. To share my beliefs and way of life with others in words and actions because of my love for God. I hope to someday be like a kid again; to love like a kid and to live like one too. To no longer live a Halloween type life; day in day out, but to truly be who I am and who I’m called to be – Christ died for me not the Halloween masked version I at times tend to be. 

βœπŸΎοΈβœŒπŸΎοΈπŸ‘ŠπŸΎ

Leave a Reply

